21 students selected as outstanding doctors of tomorrow

AMA Wire
Email this page

A group of outstanding fourth-year medical students from across the country were announced earlier this month as recipients of the Physicians of Tomorrow Awards from the AMA Foundation.

The 21 honored students, chosen for their academic excellence and financial need, will each receive $10,000 to assist with their medical school tuition. The 2014 scholarship recipients are:

  • Matthew Alvin, Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine
  • Joshua Bakhsheshian, Chicago Medical School at Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine and Science
  • Italo Brown, Meharry Medical College
  • Elias Dayoub, University of Michigan Medical School
  • Jennifer Girard, University of Illinois at Chicago College of Medicine
  • Konstantin Grigoryan, University of Cincinnati College of Medicine
  • Mickey Ising, University of Louisville School of Medicine
  • Corbin Jacobs, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas
  • Mariya Kalashnikova, Keck School of Medicine of the University of Southern California
  • Jimin Kim, University of Chicago Pritzker School of Medicine
  • Matthew Murphy, Loyola University Chicago Stritch School of Medicine
  • Raja Narayan, University of California Irvine School of Medicine
  • Alexander Nguyen, University of California Davis School of Medicine
  • Derek Rogalsky, Georgetown University School of Medicine
  • Taylor Stanton, University of Illinois College of Medicine at Rockford
  • Tatiana Thema, Wake Forest School of Medicine
  • Ryan Uselman, University of Minnesota Medical School
  • Stephen Villa, University of California San Francisco
  • LaBianca Wright, Loyola University Chicago Stritch School of Medicine

In addition, two students each received $10,000 for their commitment to careers in medical journalism:

  • Anna Garcia, Vanderbilt University School of Medicine
  • Daniel Leifer, University of California Davis School of Medicine

Read more about this year’s winners on the Physicians of Tomorrow Awards Web page.

Email this page
Show Comments (0)
Mar 22, 2017
The newest version of the House’s plan to replace the Affordable Care Act would make coverage unaffordable for millions more Americans.